Sunday, August 3, 2008

Why doesn't Washington County top this list? Developers rule and they want to burn off the trees they bulldoze

19 counties issue bans on burning
Posted on Saturday, August 2, 2008
Nineteen counties across Arkansas, including Pulaski County, have declared bans on outdoor burning.

Hot, dry conditions that are keeping temperatures well above the 90-degree mark prompted Pulaski County Judge Buddy Villines issue an outdoor burning ban Friday.

Other counties that have issued burn bans are Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Crawford, Dallas, Faulkner, Garland, Hempstead, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Miller, Nevada, Ouachita, Polk, Saline and Sebastian. In addition, the city of Malvern has issued a burn ban.

The ban means that all open burning of trash, grass, brush or other materials is prohibited until the burn ban is lifted, said Kathy Botsford, director of the Pulaski County Department of Emergency Management.

“Due to the extreme heat and the rapidly drying conditions and lack of precipitation... it has become necessary to issue a burn ban,” Botsford said.

The ban will last until the hot, dry conditions end, she said.

The Arkansas Forestry Commission reported four of the state’s nine fire districts are facing high fire danger, while three others are facing moderate fire danger.

The commission reported 168 fires in July. For the year, 537 fires have burned 6, 246 acres.

“With little significant rainfall in sight, Arkansas residents living in forested areas should begin taking measures to protect their homes from wildfire,” the commission said in a news release Friday.

Copyright © 2001-2008 Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, Inc. All rights reserved. Contact:

No comments: